A DWI and an accident that happened last year has now led to an intoxication manslaughter charge for 36 year old John Richard Anderson.
The accident occurred when 47 year old Vivian Bass turned in front of a speeding Anderson on FM 3005. Following the accident Anderson was originally charged with DWI and possession of a controlled substance. Once lab results were returned confirming Anderson’s intoxication, the manslaughter charge was added.
Anderson is now being held in Galveston County. This is his 3rd DWI offense, which makes it a felony charge even without the tragic circumstances.
If convicted of all charges, Anderson will be facing substantial prison time. However, the case has some legal complexities, as the original police report states that Bass, the victim, was the at-fault driver in the accident.
Had Anderson not been drinking and speeding, this criminal case would not have happened.
DWI offenses are always a serious matter and taken very seriously by the Texas criminal courts. As you go from a first time DWI, to a second, and then third, the penalties get far more serious.
For a first time DWI offense you will likely get your license suspended and have to pay fines and fees. You may be required to participate in a DWI education program and potentially serve probation.
A second DWI is a Class A misdemeanor, the most serious level of misdemeanor there is under Texas law. A third time DWI is a felony offense punishable by 2 to 10 years in prison and fines reaching $10,000. Your license will likely be revoked and if it is reinstated you will be required to install an ignition interlock device.
Facing any DWI charge can be frightening and stressful. You may be hoping for probation instead of jail time and this is a potential possibility. Call us today so we can discuss your case and determine the best course of action.