Texas police and law enforcement officers now have instant access to data on what vehicles and drivers are driving without required auto liability insurance coverage. A pilot program from the DPS is being rolled out statewide to provide this data to all local Texas police departments.
According the the report, 20% of all drivers in Texas are on the roads without the required car insurance.
Currently, the data is only accessible to an officer who manually enters a license plate or VIN number in his or her computer. But it can only be a matter of time before this data is linked with Automatic License Plate Scanners. When that starts to happen, police officers with that technology in their cruisers could be constantly pulling over cars.
And if you are stopped for driving your car without insurance, other arrests can result from that stop. If you have had anything to drink, you could end up being arrested on a DWI charge. If your license is suspended, or you have outstanding criminal warrant for failure to appear, you will also be arrested.
And if in the course of the police stopping you, you are searched and found to have any drugs, you will be arrested for drug possession.
With all the new monitoring tools the police have at their disposal, it is critically important to make sure your license, insurance, and paperwork is in order when you hit the road.
A charge of driving without liability insurance carries a maximum fine of $350. A second offense can result in a 2 year license suspension.
If you are charged with a crime in Texas, please contact our criminal defense attorneys for a free legal consultation and case evaluation. We can go over your specific situation, and make recommendations and suggestions for what you can do to get out of a legal criminal jam.